Baptist Church Records Loss of 35 Members to Bandits, While 145 Have Been Abducted

Suspected armed bandits have killed 35 persons and kidnapped 145 members of Kaduna Baptist Conference from January to April, 2021.

President, Rev. Ishaya Adamu Jangado, while lamenting the security situation in Kaduna explained that, “It’s so sad that we wake up with the daily heartbreaking news of killings and kidnapping of our people in Kaduna State.”

He added, “It is on record that in Kaduna Baptist Conference, from January to April 2021, our members have gone through the agony of kidnapping and killings of their loved ones.”

Among other places where their members have been killed and kidnapped, Rev. Ishaya Adamu Jangado gave some names as Buruku, Gadani, Gwagwada, Kasuwan Magani, Kakau, Sabon- Tasha and Udawa Baptist associations.

The conference lamented that the most recent incident took place on 25th April, 2021 in Haske Baptist Church, Manini Village where Doctor Zakariah Dogo Yaro was killed and 4 people were kidnapped.

The statement observed, “This is inhuman and unacceptable. Kaduna Baptist Conference condemn this act and call on the government to take immediate necessary action to arrest the perpetrators and put to an end this evil that is ravaging our state and country.”

Kaduna Baptist Conference, therefore, commiserated with all members of Haske Baptist Church Manini in Chikun Local Government Area of the state, other victims of these ungodly attacks, the Baptist family and the Christian community.

The statement urged people to watch and pray as they also called on government to do their constitutional duties in order to ensure
normalcy is restored to the state.

The state of the nation in recent times has taken a toll for the worst as bandits, fulani killer herdsmen, Boko Haram have unleashed indescribable mayhem on lives and properties, kidnapping is on a steady rise, anarchy seen in broad daylight, with no foreseeable help from the government. States most affected by these gruesome acts are Benue State, Enugu State, Kaduna State, Ebonyi State, Abia State, Imo State, Anambra State and Lagos State.